Pulling our Hair Out

I’ve been doing so, figuratively, concerning my recent decline of executive function, but my autistic son has been doing so literally. He has “stim” habits (as the special ed teachers say): at various times picking at socks and sleeves and chair cushions.  He’s been working on a spot on his head, though, and has, one hair at a time, picked this spot bald.   In fact, we had to take him to the hair salon and they engineered a combover for him.

I tried to reason with him in front of the mirror the other day, showing him what he’s done to his scalp, but he refuted by best argument by informing me that he actually would like to look like Dr. Phil.  He’s also a huge fan of Billy Mays, though, so I’m not trusting his aesthetic at the moment.

English: Billy Mays

One thought on “Pulling our Hair Out

  1. Today at his MathCounts competition Daegan very nearly pulled out clumps of his hair (no kidding, I have video). Bald spots rule!

Comments! I love comments!

