Chapter Eighty-Nine: In Which Our Hero Channels a Slug

Weird day.  I spent many hours today doing web conferences, talking live, one-on-one with students in my online class.  As long as I was talking to students, I felt positive and energized.  As soon as I stopped, I felt demoralizingly tired and apathetic.  Sluggish.  As if a slug.  A slug who ran out of antidepressants, so as far as slugs go, a downer, someone who the other slugs look at and say, who invited glum bum over there? underneath their slug breaths.

I felt like two different people, like Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hide-Under-The-Desk-And-No-One-Will-See-Me.  It was as if each student arrived with a 20-minute energy shot, and as soon as the conference ended, meh.

Here’s an interesting fact:  if you Google “slug party images” you get pictures from Harry Potter movies.  If I knew anything about Harry Potter, I would know why.  I do know that Harry Potter sounds like an unkempt ceramicist.

Meh is my new favorite word.

Do slugs have bums? Or is bum used in the sense of vagabond, as in I wish that vagabond would pay for his slug-railroad ticket like everyone else!

I don’t think slugs would use the word “slug” to describe everything in their slug lives.  Its like email; eventually email will drop the e and just be mail.  I wonder which is slower, slug mail or snail mail?

I’m glad I keep the SafeSearch on when I Google images.

 

9 thoughts on “Chapter Eighty-Nine: In Which Our Hero Channels a Slug

    • I know in the abstract, but have not read the books or seen the movies. Thanks for your comment!

  1. Horace Slughorn was a teacher at Hogwarts and he was well-known for the parties he would host featuring famous former-students and those in power.

    Other than that, I really appreciate your surge of energy and then lapse into lethargy. If you get it figured out, let me know. Please. I’m too tired to keep typing.

      • I’m a huge fan of the Harry Potter stories and always willing to share my wealth of geeky knowledge. (I love Star Wars and Wolverine too, lol)

      • Much of my life has been occupied by Star Wars. I saw the first movie in the theater when I was 7 and I grew up with the toys. I don’t care what anyone says, I like all six movies!

        I’m kind of a half-way Trekkie—I’m married to a serious Trekkie and have been to a few conventions over the years.

        My favorite sci-fi work of all time, though is the movie Dune. Again, the critics tend to be against me on that one.

  2. Isn’t there a Mr. Slugworth on The Simpson’s? If you Google “Slug Bum” I wonder if it would show him or his Butt? Hmm.. just a thought.

Comments! I love comments!

